Deutscher Wachtelhund Search Pedigrees  
Board Home   Search   Member List   Calendar   Help  

Current time: 09-22-2018, 11:09 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
New to the VDW
12-06-2011, 08:13 PM (This post was last modified: 12-06-2011 08:14 PM by Mark V.)
New to the VDW
Hello all!

I find myself here by pure accident. A friend of mine adopted a Wachtelhund (free to a good home situation)from a man in our state. I happened by his house and took a look at this dog with a great deal of disinterest. Well, within 5 minutes I saw that this was no ordinary dog. By all indications he had a very nice and stable temperament and a perpetually inquisitive nose. I had two bird dogs both are Large Munsterlanders so I was familiar with the versatile breeds. But this dog was different.

After I studied up on this breed, I traded my friend , my old bird dog for the 4 year Wachtelhund. He had spent a fair amount of time at at "professional trainer" who apparently spent a bunch of time trying to turn him into a pointer of game birds.

For the record, I have no intentions of pounding a square peg into a round hole. My intention is to use this dog for the varied use they were bred to do. He has the drive and I have the motivation. I dont believe we can be stopped!

My dog background is as follows.
~ started life hunting pheasants with a Brittany Spaniel as a young boy
~ during college I raised and trained water dogs
~ after several years of professional drifting I got involved in protection dog training and spent 7 years as a Police Canine trainer and handler.
~ more recently I have come full circle to pointing dogs again with my Large Munsterlanders. With them I enjoy Grouse and Woodcock hunting in my home state of Michigan.

Well, that is the readers digest version. And I am glad to be here!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-06-2011, 08:21 PM
RE: New to the VDW